Morisawa Type Design Competition 2016


Between 1984 and 2002, Morisawa Inc. held the “Morisawa Type Design Competition” every three years on seven occasions. With awards given to excellent type design by a jury of internationally renowned designers such as Ikko Tanaka, Adrian Frutiger, and Matthew Carter, the competition gained high acclaim as a gateway for type designers.
The 2014 Competition marked its 30th anniversary since the first Morisawa Awards International Typeface Competition was held in 1984. In anticipation to give birth to a new typeface design with unprecedented expressive capacity, it has called for entry works with bold ideas and new attempts.