Morisawa Type Design Competition 2019


Call for Entries. #MOTC19

Morisawa Type Design Competition has been giving birth to new typeface designs for decades since the first competition held in 1984. Through entries with bold ideas and new attempts in anticipation with unprecedented expressive capacity, the last competition in 2016 received more than 700 entries from 49 countries and regions, including both Kanji and Latin categories.


The application was closd on January 31, 2019.

People’s Choice
Kanji and Latin category
May 27-June 16,2019
Morisawa Award
Kanji category・Latin category
Gold Prize: JPY 1 million (1 work)
Akashi Award
Thema「Variable Font」
Prize money: JPY 50,000
(Up to 3 works)

There is no limit to the number of submissions per entrant. No entry fee is charged.


Past prize winning works and related events.